Jim n Kate buy a travel trailer

The title says it all, of course.  Kate and I are alike in so many ways, and that includes a love of camping.  Now I’m talking *leisurely* camping, you understand.  I won’t be doing any logging, it’s not likely that I’ll be doing any kayaking, intense hiking, mountain climbing….. NONE of that stuff!  Mostly, I enjoy getting the camp set up, making sure everything is functional, then just settling in for some relaxation, making some new friends, watching the campfire…. now THAT’s what I’m talking about!

We did our shopping online when we decided to buy something, and so we looked at a lot of Craigslist ads, RV dealer ads, newspaper ads, and we trekked out to see a few of them.  One of them we missed by about 15 minutes – the guy was there just ahead of us, making the deal.  Oh, well.  But, there was one parked down at Mark’s Happy Campers, just south of us, that sorta caught our eye.  Kate fell in love with it when she first saw it, but I took some convincing.  Anyway, long story short, we bought a 1972 Argosy trailer (same vintage as my son Bret).  As you might be able to deduce from its shape, it was made by Airstream, with the classic shape, but without the shiny metallic outer shell.  The dealer had the trailer on consignment, but he knew the seller and assured us that all the major things were functional, so just come clean-up, dress-up, should be all we needed to do.  And, he was right – I had to do a little plumbing repair due to some freeze damage, but all the other stuff works fine (that rooftop air conditioner really pours out some COLD air).

Of course, I had to buy a different pickup, one with a V8 engine, and you’ll see it in the photos, also.  I just installed the electric brake controller today, figured it’d be nice if the trailer stopped, too, when I pressed on the brake pedal.  If we make it to the Rockies with this trailer, I sure don’t want it pushing me down those mountain roads as a runaway!  A movie recommendation, while I have you in the ‘trailer frame of mind’ – check out “The Long, Long Trailer”, with Lucille Ball and Desi Arnaz.  Definitely a CLASSIC, very funny!

We plan to take the trailer out for some local camping first, get the feel of it, start a list of what else we might need (yes, the never-ending “camper buy list”).  We have penciled in a trip to Estes Park, CO later in September, if we can get reservations somewhere.  I’ll keep you posted, ok?

And now, without further babbling, I present the photos!  I hope you find something you like 🙂  Jim n Kate are off on another adventure!!  And, yes, Millie dog will be going with us 🙂

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

2 responses to “Jim n Kate buy a travel trailer

  1. Sue Robbins

    Looks like fun! Let us know when you are in CO! Love from your old neighbors Randy and Sue

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Mike Griffis

    Hi Jim,

    When I got out of the Air Force in 1972 I bought a travel trailer, don’t remember the brand but we used it in the Rockies quite a lot and the first time we used it we crossed the continental Divide at Loveland Pass which has been made easier with the Eisenhower Tunnel which was known as the Straight Creek Tunnel when built. The dealer was correct when he said I would have no trouble pulling it with my 69 Chevy Caprice with a 350 V8 and we camped at Maroon Bells just out of Aspen and got a job with the Aspen PD and worked there for a year and when we left we went out by way of Independence pass which is over 12000 feet with Loveland over 11000. The trailer was 21 feet.

    Mike Griffis

Leave a Reply

