Spring Attacks

In the back of my mind I knew it was *coming*!  I suppose I was in denial, thinking maybe it wouldn’t apply to me – wrong!  We drove home from New Orleans after our cruise and saw dogwoods and redbuds in bloom down in Mississippi and Alabama, but it just didn’t register that it was actually about to happen HERE!

So, things are greening up, and there are Spring projects LOOMING – ask Kate, she has LOTS of them lined up, not sure how many of them have my name on them.  I got volunteered (suckered) into one yesterday – we made a couple of planter troughs.  Yes, we *made* them, didn’t use the purchased kind.  In one of her demonic magazines it said you could make your own ‘hypertufa’ http://www.efildoog-nz.com/hypertufa.htm things for the garden, so after we came home from Home Depot we started the mixing and gooping. Ours *might* not turn out as artistic as the one pictured on the left – we’ll see.  Anyway, hypertufa is kind of a home-made concrete that is WAY lighter than concrete.  Maybe if we decide to add on a room we can mix up a BIG batch of this stuff.  Oh, by the way, it takes THREE weeks for the troughs to cure – no instant gratification here.

We had gone kinda overboard during freezing February and ordered enough seeds and plants to start our own nursery, and now these things are starting to arrive at our door.  No, we’re not ready yet.  I have been sorta planning to order some topsoil for our intended garden plot and wound up waiting a bit too long, as it turned out.  They were supposed to come today with the  big truck, but it’s RAINING today, so maybe they’ll come Wednesday or Thursday.  I’ll have to keep some of our ‘already arrived’ plants in safe storage until the soil gets here and we get it spread out.  It’s supposed to be about 6 yards, which is approximately 3 pickup loads of dirt.  I plan to attach my little trailer to my lawn tractor and distribute a lot of it that way, here’s hoping.  If that plan doesn’t work, it’ll be shovels and wheelbarrows.  I’ll only have to move it about 75 feet, slightly uphill, so maybe it won’t be killer difficult.

Our next shipment to arrive will be blueberry bushes, blackberry bushes, and vinca ground cover for the flower garden.  I already received garlic, strawberries and asparagus which have been ‘temporarily’ transplanted to a holding area.  I also got a lot of seed packets.  See how ‘behind’ I put myself?

Help!  Bring shovels!!  (I’ll have to let you know when the soil arrives, so right now you’re on ‘standby’, ok?)

Spring is neat, if you don’t get overwhelmed.

2 responses to “Spring Attacks

  1. Every year about this time, my grandpa would say:
    Spring has sprung,
    The grass has riz.
    I wonder where
    The flowers is?

    The flowers is here! We have snowdrops, crocus and daffodils in bloom. I’m getting ready to put on my snake-stompin’ boots and go hunting for mushrooms. 🙂

    • Are you (gasp) “morel-knowledgeable”??? We read about them but being pretty new to the area, have not seen/gathered any, nor have we ever tasted them.

      Advice for the day: If you have a headache, do what it says on the aspirin bottle: Take two, and keep away from children.

Leave a Reply

