Unsavory

  We were down at the town square wandering through some of the historical exhibits during Territorial Days or some such event, and Kate was chatting with a woman at one of the counters while I wandered around.  When we got back together she announced, “Well, I volunteered us for ………………………… “.  Of course, I didn’t pay attention – I’m a husband, right?  I promptly forgot whatever it was.  To be fair, she did bring it up a couple of times since then, but who listens?  🙂

   So, about a week ago she tells me, “Well, the first meeting for Corydon’s Unsavory Past event is Monday at 7:00 PM – you know, the one we volunteered for?”  Hmmm, I wonder what *that* is??  “Oh, and by the way”, she says, “I’ll be working, so it’s all up to you – have FUN with it!  Don’t forget!”  I dutifully made a note of the time and date (thank you, Google Calendar!) and pretended to look prepared.  I did spend a little time doing some research on this and found out that it’s some kind of annual event downtown that is something like a mini-pageant, with guided tours, narrators, docents, all that neat stuff.  Something to do with history, and I do like history, so I guess it’ll be all right.

  Last night I showed up at the appointed time and place (the historic Old Presbyterian Church [Pedestrian Church?]), signed one of the forms that said something about me being a volunteer for the State of Indiana and not to expect a paycheck or anything.  As I made my way to one of the empty seats in a pew, a giant leech attacked me!  It was the lady who had trapped Kate at the exhibit, and now she was attached to ME!  Horrors!  Well, I may be exaggerating just a bit, but I was duly in her clutches!

   Actually, she was very nice, her name is Nancy Snyder, and she was asking if I could do some writing for the event, since my BW (beautiful wife) Kate had touted me as Raymond Chandler or Erle Stanley Gardner or somesuch famous writer.   I said, sure, I’d give it a shot, whaddya need?  So, long story short, she said she needed me to go over the historical newspaper clippings in the folder she handed me and to wrap a story around the events, then to be presented on the Corydon Unsavory Past tour event on October 1st and 2nd.  She said that they would have about 10 ‘stations’ set up around the square, where various stories would be presented by narrators to tour groups as they arrived at their station.  I would be one of the author/narrators, standing there in costume, waiting for each successive group so that I could repeat my spiel about the famous Corydon Fire of 1871.  I would be ‘spieling’ about 6 or 7 times as the evening progressed, and did I think I could do all this?  Oh sure, I opined, having no idea.  But, I said I’d give it my best shot.  I took the folder and went home to slave over the word processor keys.  So far, it’s been great fun!!  Thank you Kate, for volunteering ‘us’ for this.

   To follow up on the Derby Dinner Playhouse thing, we went over there to Clarksville on Sunday evening to celebrate our First Anniversary.  I had attended dinner playhouse productions in the distant past, so I had some idea about what was to transpire.  We had a simply marvelous time!  The buffet was first, and they had a great variety of good food, no complaints whatsoever – just wonderful!  Shortly after, the cast members came out for a preliminary song and dance show prior to the main show (“Cinderella”, as you may remember).  They did a great job singing and dancing, and then when the main show started, we were equally pleased with that.  Great costumes, great performances, a perfect evening in every way.

   At a couple of points the performers/tableservers came around to refresh our iced tea and coffee, and I just had to ask, “What kind of coffee IS this?  It’s fabulous!!”  If you’re like me, you smell coffee brewing, you expect it to taste kinda like what you smelled, but it’s rare that the taste is really that good.  I tell you, this stuff was flavorful and smooth, even taken black, as I drink it.  Our server had trouble remembering the name at first, but finally came up with it, “It’s Douwe Egberts brand.”  I did some research when I got home – it’s a Dutch import, and kinda pricey and hard to find.  Guess I’ll wait til we go back to the Derby ( we signed up for a package deal for some more shows in the future).

  Well, there’s today’s Ramble.  Confused yet?  🙂

We’re still havin’ fun (and yes, I’m gonna get Kate signed up to do *something* as a part of the Unsavory Past thing, you can bet!).  🙂

Hang in there, the HEAT can’t last forever!!

2 responses to “Unsavory

  1. Maybe I’ll see you there! The Southern Indiana Writers (of whom I’m one) wrote GHOSTS ON THE SQUARE…AND ELSEWHERE…. for Corydon, and we sell the book at the Unsavory Past event. 🙂

Leave a Reply

