No Kinda Man

  In “O Brother Where Art Thou” the Tim Blake Nelson character is musing about what he might do with his share of the treasure (rumored treasure?) and he wants to re-purchase the family farm, says, “You ain’t no kinda man if you don’t have land”.  My Indiana paraphrased version (tongue in cheek) is “You ain’t no kinda man if you don’t have a pickup”.  Well, I’ve been feelin’ kinda bereft lately, and none too MANLY, havin’ no pickup and all, so I’ve been sifting those truck ads on Craigslist and in the Corydon Democrat

   Today, success!!  This story is a little involved – stay with me, ok?  🙂  I found an ad on Craigslist several days ago, agreed to call the people this morning to set up a viewing time, but dang! the ad had disappeared from Craigslist.  So, I ‘threw in the towel’ on that one and decided to move on to something else.  I told Kate about this, and she started right in on ‘call ’em anyway, see what’s going on’.  Well, I didn’t want to do it, drug my feet for awhile on it, then finally relented, *KNOWING* all the while that the truck had been sold and I was just wasting my time.  After all, I *DO* know everything, right??  I called, half-heartedly, and was amazed to hear that ‘the truck is still available and did I want to come see it’.  Well, I had to grovel to Kate, admit that she was perfectly correct in bugging me til I called, all that. 

   Meanwhile, the Fourth of July parade had started in Corydon, so we went downtown to check that out before we headed out to see the pickup.

   So, we enjoyed the parade, gathered up lots of candy being thrown by all the political candidates (yeah, like we’d remember, come November, who it was who threw the best candy our way), and just had a great time outdoors on a sparkling morning.

   Meanwhile, I’m champing at the bit, wanting to get on the road to get up to Campbellsville, Indiana, to see that magical truck!  So, I got Kate pried loose from all the parade doings, and away we went.  I promised her we’d return to the downtown area to explore some of the other holiday things (the Territory Festival was going on, also – more later, next blog post, perhaps).  But first, the pickup quest!  I hope those people who saw me hogtie her and throw her in the car weren’t too upset.

    We got to the pickup viewing at the appointed time, and commenced the viewing/evaluation.  Unfortunately, after all that anticipation, I decided not to buy it – too many problems, too many broken things on the beast.  Well, heck!

   By then, it was lunchtime, we were both famished, so Kate fired up the Garmin GPS and located a place to eat just a few miles down the road.  We drove over there, went up and down the street a couple of times, finally found it – FYI, in case you’re looking for it, “JT’S” in Campbellsburg, Indiana, has NO SIGNAGE anywhere on the building, just a neon OPEN indicator in the window.

   We went on in, discovered it to be a DARK, COOL bar with 6 or 8 of the locals sitting at the bar.  I was dubious, but Kate forged ahead, me in tow.  We had some good sandwiches, good side dishes, and I got to fire off some of my favorite OLD jokes (not sure if Kate was rolling her eyes, but I wouldn’t have been surprised).  In the course of the joking and chatting with the guys at the bar, one of them said, “Hey, if you’re looking for a budget pickup, I can help you out!”.  Amazingly, he worked for a local farmer who had a pickup for sale, and of course had not advertised it, just had mentioned it to a few people, and we happened to be in the right place at the right time to hear about it.  Thank you again, Kate, thank you thank you!

   To bring this long tale to an end, we followed him a few miles out to the farm, test drove the old yellow beast, and paid the man.  Done and done!   So, whatdya think?

   Kate says, “It has *character*!”  (no radio, no air conditioning, but has lotsa CHARACTER).  I agree, and I think it will be a valuable addition to our family.It’ll give me the freedom to go places when she’s at work.  Now I can attend the Writer’s Group that meets at the library, and I can go down to hear some of the live entertainment at Cafe on the Square in Corydon.  And, if Vehicle 1 has problems, it’ll be our emergency backup.

   Anyway, I’m thrilled to have it.  Hope you didn’t mind wading through my ‘pickup acquisition’ story.

   Come on over, you can have a test drive!!  🙂

Leave a Reply

