Pastoral Pursuits

  No, that doesn’t mean I’m studying for the ministry  🙂  We’re just enjoying our rural lifestyle and enjoying being in that “pinch me, let me see if I’m dreaming” mode.  We have so many things yet to accomplish, a major task list, but none of it seems too daunting – every day we are rewarded just by looking out the window or stepping out onto the front deck.

   I’ve really been amazed by the climate here – I expected it to be somewhat like Dallas in the spring, but it’s not like that at all (so far).  I remember that in Dallas, spring arrived with *warm* temperatures and oppressive humidity, but I’ve been so pleasantly surprised at how nice it is here in our woods.  The mornings are cool, usually with light breezes, and no feeling of humidity in the air.  When Kate’s arrival is expected (from her night shift at Jewish Hospital in Louisville) I sometimes go out with little KD and just enjoy the morning, waiting for her to show up on our long driveway.  Brilliant sunshine, bird calls (we occasionally hear distant turkey gobbling), no traffic noises, marvelous!!  One of the most wonderful things has been the absence of mosquitoes – I know, I know, I’ve only been here a short while, and this is my first Indiana spring, but it’s been just great!  We’re getting warm afternoons, 70’s and 80’s, and if you start exerting yourself, you can feel the humidity then, but it’s not terrible.

    I recently discovered that we have bats in our neighborhood, could that be the reason for the low insect population?  We have one of those large mercury vapor yard lights mounted over our garage door (off to the left if I’m sitting out front, and not shining in my eyes).  So, I was out there enjoying the evening about 9:30 (pretty dark by then) and started seeing bats swooping in from the darkness and into the lighted area, feeding on the bugs that were drawn by the light.  So, I guess the big night light becomes the ‘bat feeding station’.  We also had bats where we lived in Littleton, so it was like having a visit from our little friends.

   I’m recuperating this evening – today was mowing day and ‘clear out some fallen timber day’.  I had done the lumberjack thing on a few mis-shapen bowed-down trees and finally today made it out there to move them to the woodpile.  There were also a few fallen branches that needed to be dragged away.  So, lawn tractor to the rescue!  I drove around back and tied onto the trees ( the largest one was around 4 inches in diameter – not quite redwoods but still kinda heavy!) and pulled them around to the front yard.  I needed to get them out of the way so I could mow, and some of them were also in the way, garden-wise.  You can see the ‘woodpile’ over to the left in this picture of the front area.  I fired up the chainsaw (after many futile pulls on the rope, I *finally* relented and reviewed the starting procedure) and got the logs cut down to size.

   So, after cleaning up the timber, it was mowing time.  It took me an hour and a half or so, and right as I finished, there were strange noises coming from the mower blade area.  Oh no  😦  I drove the Red Beast into the garage and put the front wheels up onto a jury-rigged ramp and discovered that one of the blades had worked loose, and now the hold-down bolt seems kinda messed up.  Two mowing sessions, and two breakdowns – I guess I better start *dodging* some of those things hidden in the grass.   I’ll have to work on the mower tomorrow, see what else I need.  Maybe if I live long enough, I’ll learn about riding mowers and their proper use.  I did get smart on one thing, anyway – I bought some bright orange spray paint and marked the tree stumps before I started mowing.  One thing at a time, I guess.

   I need to take some new pictures to include in these blog posts so you can see how green everything is.  It’s somewhat jungle-like, but it is beautiful indeed!

  We’re still working on clearing out boxes and trying to make the extra bedroom habitable for guests.  We have the trundle bed assembled and in place in there, and a dresser, too,  but still have a ways to go.  Kate wants to make it her sewing room, also.  So, we have the master bedroom, bedroom 2 is the computer room, and bedroom 3 will be the sewing/guest room.  Lots to do!  🙂   (this picture was taken while the previous folks were still in the house – all different now!)

  We’ll let you know when the “Vacancy” sign goes up!!

2 responses to “Pastoral Pursuits

  1. Sounds like a wonderful place! So happy for you and Kate. Send more ramblings and pictures.

    • Kate just arrived home from work and read the blog and your comment. She says ‘Hi, and we think of you folks often!’
      Please plan to come see us – we’ll squeeze you in somehow!

Leave a Reply

